Redwood Region Audubon Society

About Us

Mission, History, and Board

Our Mission: a) act to promote a wise, balanced, responsible, and ethical use of natural systems on a local, national, and global scale; and b) protect the biotic and abiotic components of local, national, and global natural systems.

The Redwood Region Audubon Society (RRAS) was founded in 1969. It is the northwestern California Chapter (encompassing Humboldt, Del Norte, and western Trinity County) of the National Audubon Society. This energetic community of conservation-minded people is active in many ways. RRAS is a volunteer, nonprofit organization with over 850 members that relies on the energy and commitment of those members to be a strong and effective local conservation organization.

RRAS is governed by a Board of Directors of between 9 and 13 members, who serve 2-year terms. Elections are held each January. It also has active committees that handle conservation, education, field trips, finance, membership, nominating, programs, publicity, and publications. View the Chapter Bylaws.

RRAS holds a seat on the Board of Directors of the Northcoast Environmental Center (NEC), founded in 1971. This nonprofit umbrella for a host of citizen activist groups has been at the forefront of every Klamath-Siskiyou regional environmental struggle for decades – from ancient redwoods, wild rivers, and recycling to toxics, energy, and endangered species.

View RRAS Contacts Below

OFFICERS      
President Hal Genger 499-0887 hal.genger@humboldt.edu
Vice President Vacant    
Immed. Past President Jim Clark 445-8311 clarkjimw@gmail.com
Secretary Adam Brown 826-0319 abrown@epicislands.org
Treasurer Syn-dee Noel 442-8862 redwoodpost@suddenlink.net


BOARD OF DIRECTORS    
Jill Bluso Demers 667-6163 jilldemers@gmail.com
Ralph Bucher 443-6944 thebook@reninet.com
Joe Ceriani 476-9127 joeceriani@usmessage.net
Harriet Hill 267-4055 harrieth6@gmail.com
Cindy Moyer 822-1886 cindy.moyer@humboldt.edu
Chet Ogan 442-9353 oganc@sbcglobal.net
Susan Penn 443-9660 susanpenn60@gmail.com
C. J. Ralph 822-2015 cjralph@humboldt1.com


COMMITTEE CHAIRS      
Conservation Jim Clark 445-8311 clarkjimw@gmail.com
Education/Scholarships Denise Seeger 444-2399 daseeger@gmail.com
Field Trips Rob Fowler 839-3493 migratoriusfwlr@gmail.com
Finance Syn-dee Noel

442-8862 redwoodpost@suddenlink.net
Membership Lew and Judie Norton 445-1791 norton@humboldt1.com
Nominating Jim Clark 445-8311 clarkjimw@gmail.com
Programs Ken Burton 499-1146 shrikethree@gmail.com
Publications C. J. Ralph 822-2015 cjralph@humboldt1.com
Publicity Harriet Hill & 267-4055 harrieth6@gmail.com
Gary Bloomfield 362-1226 (c) bloomfieldstudio@mac.co


OTHER CONTACTS      
Program Manager Vacant -- --
Historian John Hewston 822-5288 johnhewstonisonline@gmail.com
Lake Earl Branch Sue Calla 465-6191 susancalla@jeffnet.org
NEC Representative C. J. Ralph
825-2992
cjralph@humboldt1.com
The Sandpiper Gary Bloomfield 822-0210 bloomfieldstudio@me.com
Jan Andersen

616-3888 (c)

j.andersen.415@gmail.com
Website Gatekeeper Sue Leskiw 442-5444 sueleskiw@suddenlink.net
Field Notes Daryl Coldren 916-384-8089 quiavispetit@aol.com
Volunteer Coordinator Susan Penn 443-9660 susanpenn60@gmail.com
Arcata Marsh Walk Coordinator Pat Bitton 268-8968 pbitton@hotmail.com
Arcata Bird Box 822-LOON 822-5666
Bird Box Administrator Elias Elias   fabflockfinder@gmail.com
eBird Liaison Rob Fowler 839-3493 migratoriusfwlr@gmail.com


** All phone numbers are area code 707, unless otherwise noted.